map of nest thermostat location relative to gas heating system

16 Jan

Good evening to all,

I said in my previous post, since we have been talking a lot about wiring and electrical aspects…

at some point comes the “routing” of all those connections. Below you can see if my apartment and

the three key area of interest: the heating system location, the breakers box and last but not least my nest thermostat location.

A couple of comments:

  • all rooms are fitted with cast iron radiator
  • each cast iron radiator is fitted with a thermostatic head to the exception of the so-called “Bedroom 2″ where the thermostat is located (for obvious reason)

the idea is to regulate the coldest room to whatever temperature I need and let all the other room (warmer in general) get settled via their individual thermostatic heads.

All I can say even before the Nest this setup worked pretty well – but the smartness of Nest is likely still to bring energy savings (hence dollars, Euros or whatever your currency is – I am flexible). the only issue I know with this setup, I will likely have is the auto-away feature not working well given the location of the thermostat (comments are welcome as usual).

nest thermostat appartment

Current plan:

- to wire my nest thermostat to the breaker box where the Aube RC840 unit will be located (this requires 3 wires, W/R/C)

- wire the aube RC840 to the Gas heater (this requires also 3 wires Ns/Ls/Lr).

Alternative plan:

- I may place my Aube RC840 right next to the gas heater (in case I struggle to add an extra wire – see my previous post)

- route W/R/C wires to the “breaker box” and then dispatch them to the nest location by means of proper “jumpers”

wiring nest thermostat aube rc840 heating system

I have full flexibility when it comes to the number of wires to be run from the green box (the breaker’s box)

to the Nest Thermostat, however, I am missing 1-wire from the green box (the breaker’s box) to the gas heating system (blue).

As a side comment, a Neutral/Line/Earth are also needed to supply the Gas heating system (hence the 6 wires needed)

talk to you guys soon, any feedback? questions? critics? candid feedback is always welcome!

One Response to “map of nest thermostat location relative to gas heating system”

  1. Massimo January 22, 2013 at 14:10 #

    i’m waiting an answer from you about previous post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

